CERN is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year! To mark the occasion, the Orchestra will accompany the soloist Maestro Matteo Fedeli, who, under the patronage of the Permanent Mission of Italy to the United Nations, will perform on a Stradivarius violin under the baton of conductor Antoine Marguier.

The programme for the concert comprises:
Jacques Offenbach, Orpheus in the Underworld Overture
Franz von Suppé, Poet and Peasant Overture
Camille Saint-Saëns, Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso for solo violin and orchestra
Georges Bizet, Carmen Suite no. 1
Franz Lehár, Gold and Silver Waltz
Gioachino Rossini, William Tell Overture

The concert takes place at the Tent outside the CERN Globe on September 19th, 2014 at 6:30pm, with doors opening at 6pm. You must register in advance for your free tickets to gain access to the CERN campus. You are encouraged to use public transportation as there are no parking facilities. For more information, please visit